Atlanta Firearms Laws and Weapons Charges
Weapons charges in the city of Atlanta are numerous. With everything from possessing an unlawful firearm to discharging a weapon on Sunday, there are a slew of charges you could be facing in connection with a weapon. If you are facing weapons charges you need an experienced firm on your side; contact The Howard Law Group ASAP
Weapon as defined by the State of Georgia are metal knuckles, firearms, knives, or any other object that could be considered a weapon.
Unlawful Possession of Firearms or Weapons
There are some weapons you cannot have in Atlanta or the State of Georgia. They include: sawed-off shotguns, sawed-off rifles, machine guns, “dangerous weapons”, or silencers. If you are charged with unlawful possession of one of these weapons, you could be sentenced to up to 5 years in prison.
Dangerous weapons are defined by Georgia law to include rocket launchers, bazookas, or recoil-less rifles which fires explosive or nonexplosive rockets, and mortars. You can think of these weapons as those that are commonly used in military operations.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon – Laws & Penalties
If you are caught carrying a weapon and do not have it in full view, you could be charged with carrying a concealed weapon.
First Offense – Misdemeanor punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and up to 1 year in prison.
Second or subsequent offense – Felony punishable by more than $1,000 in fines and 2 to 5 years in prison.
Georgia Possession of a Firearm by a Felon Laws
Once you have been convicted of a felony in Georgia, you can no longer possess firearms. If you are a felon and are caught with a firearm, you will be charged with a felony.
Potential Sentence – Possession of a Firearm by a Felony
As a felon in possession of a firearm, you will face from 1 to 5 years in prison. However, if your prior felony conviction involved the use or threat or physical force or violence, you will be sentenced to 5 years.
The State of Georgia refers to felonies that involve the use or threat of physical force or violence as “forcible felonies”.
Carrying a Pistol Without a License
If you have a pistol, you must have a license to carry it. If you do not have a license and are caught in possession of a pistol or revolver, you could be charged with carrying a pistol without a license.
Potential Sentence – If this is your first offense, you will be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to $1,000 in fines and one year in prison. However, if this is your second or subsequent offense, you will be charged with a felony and face a potential sentence of 1 to 5 years in prison.
Pointing or Aiming a Firearm at Another – Laws & Penalties
You can be charged with a crime for simply pointing an unloaded firearm at someone. If you point a firearm at someone, whether it is loaded or not, you face a misdemeanor charge and a potential sentence of up to 1 year in prison and fines of up to $1,000.
Possession of a Firearm in the Commission of a Felony
If you use a firearm or knife in the commission of some felonies, you may be facing an additional felony charge. If this is your first offense, you may be sentenced for up to 5 years. If, though, this is your second or subsequent offense, you may be sentenced to a period of 10 years.
It’s important to know that Atlanta takes gun charges very seriously. If you have been charged with an Atlanta Criminal Weapons Charge, you will need a Atlanta Criminal Defense Attorney. Contact the Howard Law Group ASAP so we can start working on your defense.