Nothing looks worse to an Atlanta Judge than leaving the scene of an accident. In Atlanta, if you are involved in an accident that involves injury to an individual or damage to a vehicle driven by another person, you can be charged with the crime of Atlanta Hit and Run. O.C.G.A. 40-6-270 requires you to immediately stop your vehicle as close to the scene of the accident and provide your name, address and vehicle registration to the other party involved. You must also show your license to the person if they ask to see it. When the accident involves an injury, the law also requires you to provide reasonable assistance which may include taking the injured individual to get medical assistance if it appears such assistance is necessary or if the person requests such assistance. If the injured person is unconscious or deceased or unable to communicate, you are required to contact emergency medical services and law enforcement.
In Atlanta, you are required to remain at the scene until you comply with the Hit and Run statute. Failure to do so can result in being charged with a felony punishable by imprisonment for not less than 1 year nor more than 5 years. In less serious cases, violation of this law is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a $1,000.00 fine and 12 months imprisonment. Furthermore, a conviction of an Atlanta Hit and Run will result in a mandatory 12-month suspension of your Georgia drivers license or privilege to drive in the State of Georgia. O.C.G.A. 40-5-54. A conviction for a third violation within a five-year period will make you a habitual violator. Driving a motor vehicle after being declared a habitual violator is a serious felony offense.
If you have been charged with Hit and Run or any other serious motor vehicle violation, you need to take quick action. Contact the Howard Law Group ASAP to schedule your free initial consultation. You need to know all your options.
Atlanta Police officers sometimes charge individuals with Hit and Run when other charges are more appropriate. Depending on the facts of your case, license suspensions can be avoided and charges can be reduced or even dismissed. This can make a big difference when renewing your auto insurance or applying for a new job. Most Georgia counties and Atlanta city police departments have Hit and Run divisions that concentrate solely on these types of cases. As a Former Prosecutor we understand the system and can defend you against these charge to greatly benefit you in resolving your case.
You need an Atlanta Lawyer who knows the system and will work with you in defending your case. Contact us today!